AHL trace on V24

Post Reply
User avatar
murraya
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 900
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 02:35

AHL trace on V24

Post by murraya » 02 Aug 2011 01:22

Hi guy's, I was hopeing someone can assist with a trace for AHL link. I normally just use tcpdump and filter the ip @ of the front office computer but this time I need to trace the link and its on V24.
has anyone got a trace command that will show messages on the link. the site is remote so I can't put a physcial monitor on the link.
I couldn't see a tuner or actdbg command that would help but I'm sure there must be one that someone knows :)

thanks in advance.
Best Regards
Murray

ACSE 10.0 corporate
ACSE 6.x IPT data

bjin
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 May 2007 15:19
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by bjin » 03 Aug 2011 17:32

The easiest way is by launching 'traced' command. It might be neccessary to add the argument '-d' (debug) to the linf process to get some output, depending on oxe version. The argument is defined in hotel computer link parameters.
-: I also have a UDP joke, but you might not get it :-

User avatar
murraya
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 900
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 02:35

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by murraya » 03 Aug 2011 18:48

Thanks Bjin, I had tried the traced command but could not really see anything. I'm not sure what you mean about adding the -d to the linf process. I did get the site working the other day by restarting that process as I know that it is the AHL process. When I look in computer link parameters I can't see where I would start the debug option.
Best Regards
Murray

ACSE 10.0 corporate
ACSE 6.x IPT data

bjin
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 May 2007 15:19
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by bjin » 04 Aug 2011 03:02

Its right there, think its called "parameters" and is normally left empty...have no access to an oxe to verify the param name at the mo...
-: I also have a UDP joke, but you might not get it :-

User avatar
murraya
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 900
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 02:35

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by murraya » 04 Aug 2011 04:24

thanks for your help so far but I can't see the field you refer to. all the fields are listed below.

ÚÄConsult/Modify: Computer LinkÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ¿
³ ³
³ Port V24 + Not used ³
³ Overflow V24 + /dev/ttyS0 (0) ³
³ ³
³ Transmission ³
³ ³
³ of all metering Tickets + True ³
³ of Room Ticket + True ³
³ of Administrative Ticket + True ³
³ of Room Status Tickets + True ³
³ of Check-In -Check-Out + True ³
³ of Attendant Tickets + True ³
³ of Voice Mail Information + True ³
³ of Wake Up Information + True ³
³ of Suite Information + True ³
³ Extended ticket + False ³
³ ³
³ Nr Digits Guest Dir. + 5digits ³
³ FIFO Size Alcatel-Lucent Hotel + 500 Frames ³
³ Period of repeating message : 5 ³
³ Prefix filter : -----
Best Regards
Murray

ACSE 10.0 corporate
ACSE 6.x IPT data

bjin
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 May 2007 15:19
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by bjin » 04 Aug 2011 16:54

I've just checked it and it's called 'LINF parameter', on the same page you pasted from above...
Just enter '-d' and traced should provide verbose output. I've used it many times and it works great.

PS - There's no good reason to omit the -d flag as it doesn't affect the performance in any way. One exception however is when using master/slave config in AHLTCP mode and when you have to set '-ahltcp' in order for the master to send ack's to external computer before receiving the ack from it's slave, but thats another topic...
-: I also have a UDP joke, but you might not get it :-

User avatar
murraya
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 900
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 02:35

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by murraya » 04 Aug 2011 22:11

OK, I see the issue. This paramater is only available if the connection is IP not V24.
that is a useful tip and may be better than mt tcpdump for those traces but will not work for V24.
Best Regards
Murray

ACSE 10.0 corporate
ACSE 6.x IPT data

bjin
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 May 2007 15:19
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by bjin » 05 Aug 2011 02:37

Oh crap :0/ This flag only need be added to the linf process when it starts...
However... I'm not sure if v24_config is involved in starting linf when using serial port..? This might be good to investigate.
-: I also have a UDP joke, but you might not get it :-

User avatar
murraya
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 900
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 02:35

Re: AHL trace on V24

Post by murraya » 05 Aug 2011 03:09

as a thought maybe i'll try dsh3_init -R LINF -d next time i need it and see if that helps :)
maybe someone else might have an idea. Elliot somtetimes comes up with gems for these types of questions i sometimes think he he knows things that that only the coders know :lol:

thanks for your time and effort Bjin
Best Regards
Murray

ACSE 10.0 corporate
ACSE 6.x IPT data

Post Reply

Return to “Traces”