Switch NI-Module to a second 9700

phil16
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Sep 2016, 05:27

Switch NI-Module to a second 9700

Postby phil16 » 06 Sep 2016, 07:12

Hey there,

we have two OS 9700E with each 2 NI modules (both working independent to each other).
The idea was to switch one NI module to an other of the 9700 (same firmware):

Scenario NOW:
OS9700 (2x NI) OS9700 (2x NI)

Scenario FUTURE:
OS9700 (1x NI) -----> (1x NI) OS9700 = OS9700 (3x NI)

I think now it's clear what we aim for.

Actually the problem is, when changing the module, the second switch recocnized the module but power it off after about 5 minutes.
By the way both OK-LEDs are solid (and not solid (OK1) and blinking (OK2) - like described in the manual).
Also the NI status LED for each of the 24 ports - als are solid (normaly they should be off) and not usable.

Is this behavior known to anybody?

Thanks - phil

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 870
Joined: 01 Jul 2008, 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Switch NI-Module to a second 9700

Postby silvio » 07 Sep 2016, 01:56

Some years ago I have seen this behavior with new NI in old chassis (different flash in NI). There was an software update helpfull. Maybe this is the solution here too.
Have you checked miniboot/uboot/fpga at all NI/CMM? In the release notes of your main release you will find the necessary versions of it.
Sometimes a reload of the second chassis is also helpfull (for bringing up new Ni with f.e. 10G instead 1G) - but than you can also do the image update....
regards
Silvio

phil16
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Sep 2016, 05:27

Re: Switch NI-Module to a second 9700

Postby phil16 » 08 Sep 2016, 03:25

Hey silvio,

(I wrote already a reply to to your answer, but the editor did not saved it :? )

I can post the current data for the two modules. You will see that the important numbers are the same:

Module in slot 6 (that should go to the other siwtch):
Model Name: OS9-GNI-C24E,
Description: 10-1000 RJ45,
Part Number: 902761-90,
Hardware Revision: F15,
Serial Number:
Manufacture Date: MAR 04 2011,
Firmware Version: ,
Admin Status: POWER ON,
Operational Status: UP,
Power Consumption: 55,
Power Control Checksum: 0x453a,
CPU Model Type : Motorola MPC8541 ADS,
MAC Address:
ASIC - Physical 1: BCM56620_B0,
FPGA - Physical 1: 0007/00,
UBOOT Version : 6.4.3.479.R01,
UBOOT-miniboot Version : No Miniboot,
POE SW Version : n/a

Module in slot 4
Model Name: OS9-GNI-C24E,
Description: 10-1000 RJ45,
Part Number: 902761-90,
Hardware Revision: F15,
Serial Number:
Manufacture Date: AUG 01 2012,
Firmware Version: ,
Admin Status: POWER ON,
Operational Status: UP,
Power Consumption: 55,
Power Control Checksum: 0x2f94,
CPU Model Type : Motorola MPC8541 ADS,
MAC Address:
ASIC - Physical 1: BCM56620_B0,
FPGA - Physical 1: 0007/00,
UBOOT Version : 6.4.3.479.R01,
UBOOT-miniboot Version : No Miniboot,
POE SW Version : n/a

As you can see module 6 has the same specs like module 4 - so the switch should be able to communicate without any problemes (I know, it's naive to belive that ;-).

So you mean a reboot could solve the problem?

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 870
Joined: 01 Jul 2008, 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Switch NI-Module to a second 9700

Postby silvio » 08 Sep 2016, 15:57

I'm not sure that it will help. But you have no other chance. This switches are obsolet since a lot of years. So Alcatel will not help you.
So I think this will be the best way to try it.
regards
Silvio


Return to “OmniSwitch 9000 / 9000E”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests