We support GIXEN, the eBay sniper.

ACSE exam on switching

Post Reply
Rens_DUP
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: 20 Aug 2007 14:09
Location: The Netherlands

ACSE exam on switching

Post by Rens_DUP » 16 Jan 2008 11:45

Anyone here who passed or took the ACSE exam on switching (9000 series and 6850)?
I'm looking for information on what to expect on the exam.

Regards,

Rens

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 6613
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by cavagnaro » 16 Jan 2008 13:42

Why cheat? I disagree on telling to any one what to exactly study. If you manage your switches ok you will have no problem with the exam.
Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

Rens_DUP
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: 20 Aug 2007 14:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by Rens_DUP » 17 Jan 2008 13:50

Why is knowing what to expect and asking for some extra background info on a exam cheating? I'm not asking for the answers. During training a lot of aspects are being coverd. Some of them have a lab that goes with them some of them don't.

I'm certified on different parts of the OXE on ACSE level, Corporate R8, Omnivista, CCD, CC-Premium, ACIPS. So I know what certification is when working on Alcatel equipment. Alcatel networking equipment on the other hand is completely new for me and for the company I'm working for. According to the trainers I've spoken, the networking exam is nothing like the ACSE exams in voice. So I'm just looking for information on what to expect.


Regards,

Rens

kleanbsf
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Jan 2008 16:55

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by kleanbsf » 08 Apr 2008 18:24

Hi Rens,

How did it go with the exam?

Regards,

Klean, Albania

splinkio
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 14 Aug 2007 11:38

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by splinkio » 13 Jun 2008 04:39

Does anyone know where you can get training for this exam in the UK?

I am currently trying to build up a course profile of training which people need to support our system by doing the ACSP > ACSE certification track.

User avatar
benny
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: 20 Oct 2007 14:51
Contact:

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by benny » 15 Jun 2008 12:10

Hey,

You can go through your Pre-Sales to get a contact to a Alcatel-Lucent University guy. They offer the trainings you need to pass the certification.

This is the "path" you need to follow to be able to certify as ACSE-R6:

ACSP -> ACSS-R6 -> ACSE-R6

If you had been an ACSE-R5 and you are still in the 2 years renewal period you can do the ACSS-R6 to become ACSE-R6.

The ACSS-R6 is an online test. ACSE-R6 is in a lab environment where you have to build a setup based on the instructors requirements.
Regards,
Benny

Please note that at no time I will provide you with AOS releases. Kindly contact your Business Partner or Alcatel-Lucent for that.

Official Alcatel-Lucent OmniSwitch documentation available at:
Alcatel-Lucent Resource Library

DokuWiki

climberboy
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Jan 2009 02:24

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by climberboy » 23 Jul 2009 12:55

Please follow this link for some ACSE advice:

https://service.esd.alcatel-lucent.com/ ... umber=3959

It doesn't give the game away about what to expect on ACSE, but it will give you some ideas of how to prepare yourself appropriately.

ACSE is based around designing, building and testing a network. You will be given a fictitious customer scenario and have to develop your exam around the customer requirements.

However, I think ALU should be more forthcoming with the topics that could be raised. I don't understand why ALU do not have a study guide that is in a similar vein to CCNP style study guides to help candidates prepare themselves for ACSE. Anyway, that's only my opinion ....

jravine
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 30 Aug 2009 14:24

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by jravine » 30 Aug 2009 15:01

The intial ACSE exam consists of a day long test where you will be given a ficticious customer wnd network requirments.
It is the candidate's (you) responsibility to configure the network to conform to the customer needs which are provided. You will need to design it on paper and have the intructor check to make sure it is going to work properly. Then you are given actual switches, servers and devices which you will put into play according to you design. Designing the network is not th hard part, it is remembering the commands to use without looking them up in the manual which wastes precious time. You have, I believe 8 hours to accomplish test.
The exam is the highest level exam and expects you to know AOS cli. So before taking the test read the entire current manual , boring as it may, be because believe me if you don't know 80-90% of what is in there or you probably have a very stressful day.
I did my first time around

successor169
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 31 Mar 2012 09:18

Re: ACSE exam on switching

Post by successor169 » 08 Dec 2016 04:38

Need Assistance regarding ACSE R6/7 Renwal. becuase i didnot find i-learning in business partner portal.

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 9000 / 9000E”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests