Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post Reply
Erico
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Feb 2012 11:48

Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by Erico » 14 Feb 2012 11:55

I am familiar with setting logging levels in the cisco world to record when an interface goes up or down. I am trying to accomplish the same thing on an Alcatel 6624. What do I need to do in order to accomplish this?


Thank you!

one6f
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 09:58

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by one6f » 15 Feb 2012 01:33

Hi,
I'm not sure if it works with 6600, try
swlog appid interface level debug1
show log swlog appid interface

Please check Network Configuration Guide in OS6600 5.4.1 User Manuals for more details.

Erico
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Feb 2012 11:48

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by Erico » 15 Feb 2012 09:05

I have tried :

swlog appid INTERFACE level debug1
swlog appid VLAN level debug3
swlog appid BRIDGE level debug3
swlog appid CONFIG level debug3

None of these accomplish what I want to be notified of:

Config changes, and port status changes.

Really scratching my head on this.

one6f
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 09:58

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by one6f » 16 Feb 2012 07:25

I have not any 6000/8000 available to check it now, but it should actually work. You need to have the last SW version.
Please make sure you have not disabled swlog globally and enabled swlog output. Consult Switch Logging Commands in CLI Quick Reference.
Try to use the integer value instead of Supported Application IDs in swlog appid command such as in Network Configuration Guide under Switch Logging Commands Overview.

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 967
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by silvio » 16 Feb 2012 11:33

Hi,
for traps at port up/down the switch has to configure per port with
>trap 1/1 port link enable
you can check with:
>show interface status

For syslog I have found an old techtip from Alcatel - see attachment.
hope this is the same at new switches.
regards
Silvio
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Muttley
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 07 Feb 2013 14:53

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by Muttley » 12 Feb 2014 06:24

Great Thanks!

This is still the only way to log a interface UP/DOWN into swlog ?

hariskhan218
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jul 2015 06:26

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by hariskhan218 » 14 Dec 2015 01:30

can anybody please comment how to log the interface changes on ssh session.

Anirudhh-123
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 26 Jul 2016 06:04

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by Anirudhh-123 » 02 Sep 2016 07:21

Hi

Configure above command but it is difficult to find in swlog.
Please give screenshot of the swlog in which interface status changes is captured.

Thanks
Anirudhh

Anirudhh-123
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 26 Jul 2016 06:04

Re: Setting logging levels for interfaces status changes.

Post by Anirudhh-123 » 07 Sep 2016 05:25

Hi,
model no-OS6850-48
Release-6.4.4.743.R01
I have tried both ways but in swlog it is not showing.
WAY1-
>trap 1/1 port link enable

WAY2-
-> dshell
Working: [Kernel]-> esmDebugLevel=4
Working: [Kernel]-> exit

Please help

Thanks
Anirudhh

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6600 / 7000 / 8800”