We support GIXEN, the eBay sniper.

NAC solutions

Post Reply
doctora
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 10:12

NAC solutions

Post by doctora » 02 Dec 2009 18:12

We are looking to implement a nac solution and I just talked to a company named bradford which probably makes excellent products but wow expensive. I did a search and investigated PacketFence but they do not list alcatel as a supported switch. Does anyone know of any other nac solutions that will work with alcatel equipment?

Thanks again
Mark

User avatar
cedric1
Member
Posts: 603
Joined: 26 May 2009 18:00
Location: Luxembourg ACSE R6

Re: NAC solutions

Post by cedric1 » 03 Dec 2009 11:45

hello

Cybergatekeeper product

look enterprise portal on alu web site

http://enterprise.alcatel-lucent.com/?s ... e=Homepage

doctora
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 10:12

Re: NAC solutions

Post by doctora » 03 Dec 2009 12:30

Thanks I will look into it.

User avatar
benny
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: 20 Oct 2007 14:51
Contact:

Re: NAC solutions

Post by benny » 03 Dec 2009 13:17

The cool thing about CyberGatekeeper is that it supports any network infrastructure. You don't need switches with 802.1x or whatever to make it work. The mode is called "DNAC" (Dynamic NAC).

Whenever you upgrade your switches to OmniSwitch 6400, OmniSwitch 6850 or OmniSwitch 6855 you'll be able to use the even more sophisticate mode called "Host Integrity Check" where the switch denies access based on ACLs. Very smart solution and better than anything I've seen so far on the market. All other solutions have to move you to another vlan (so called quarantine vlan) where you need to get a new IP address .... (very bad user experience)

-benny
Regards,
Benny

Please note that at no time I will provide you with AOS releases. Kindly contact your Business Partner or Alcatel-Lucent for that.

Official Alcatel-Lucent OmniSwitch documentation available at:
Alcatel-Lucent Resource Library

DokuWiki

doctora
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 10:12

Re: NAC solutions

Post by doctora » 03 Dec 2009 14:36

I was talking about this with another network/programmer guy and we saw that on some NACs they switch a persons Vlan. In order to do this the NAC would have to order the pc to acquire another IP address. We were trying to figure out how that happens. I know this has nothing to do with this forum and you can feel free to ignore this post and just read it as "thanks for the help".

Mark

User avatar
benny
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: 20 Oct 2007 14:51
Contact:

Re: NAC solutions

Post by benny » 04 Dec 2009 06:48

Mark,

I wrote in my previous post that there are *better* solutions than changing the VLAN.

I recommend to have a look at the following website (which is actually a product sold through Alcatel-Lucent in partnership).

http://orb.infoexpress.com/alu/
http://infoexpress.com/pads/demovideo.php

-benny
Regards,
Benny

Please note that at no time I will provide you with AOS releases. Kindly contact your Business Partner or Alcatel-Lucent for that.

Official Alcatel-Lucent OmniSwitch documentation available at:
Alcatel-Lucent Resource Library

DokuWiki

doctora
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 10:12

Re: NAC solutions

Post by doctora » 04 Dec 2009 09:22

I understand and we are talking to our vender about cybergateway. I was just interested in how it was done.

thanks

Whipster
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 03 Apr 2013 15:57

Re: NAC solutions

Post by Whipster » 07 Apr 2016 10:27

Hey Everyone,

Has anyone had any luck with trying Microsoft NPS and NAP with OS6850E Switches running 802.1x. I am trying to piece together a NAC solution, and it looks like I can do it with NAP, just now sure if I need to enable HIC or not.

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6600 / 7000 / 8800”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests