os6850e p48

Post Reply
almatel
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 05:14

os6850e p48

Post by almatel » 22 May 2019 18:06

hi all,
I have a number of 8 OS6850e p48 switches in a stack mode, is there any possibility to use 10-gig SFP+ as an uplink .

BR

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1356
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: os6850e p48

Post by silvio » 26 May 2019 05:24

The 6850e are end of sales and end of live since some years..... For this switches there was an module XNI-U2 with two SFP+. But this extra module replaces the bult-in stacking module (rear site). If you don't use the stacking with the copper cable you can use this module.
You can confure this new ports as stacking or uplink 10G.
regards
Silvio

almatel
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 05:14

Re: os6850e p48

Post by almatel » 26 May 2019 16:46

Hi silvio ,
thank you for your reply, but what if replace one 6850e from the tack with one 6850e 24x switch then the stack will be no. of 7 6850e-p48 switches and one 6850e 24x sw and using the 4 sfp 10 gig of the 6850e 24x the bult-in stacking module (rear site) for stacking and the other 2 as uplink ,is it work?
BR

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1356
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: os6850e p48

Post by silvio » 27 May 2019 10:04

Yes, you are correct.
If you have X-Switches (f.e. 6850E-24X) than you have 2 SFP+ at the front as uplink. So you can keep that switch in the stack and you have 2 SFP+.
All other switches has per default no SFP+ ... per default there are at all 6850E special 10G-cables needed for stacking (CR4 ... not SFP+).

regards
Silvio

almatel
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 05:14

Re: os6850e p48

Post by almatel » 27 May 2019 17:55

hi Silvio,
thank you very much , now we can convince our customer to replace only one switch to get sfp+ 10 gig .
BR

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”