6850 config clarification

Post Reply
jagzeer
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Feb 2016 04:04

6850 config clarification

Post by jagzeer » 05 Mar 2018 23:49

Hello guys,

I have an alcatel switch 6850 which I find some odd config.

Normally for cisco switch, if we can only configure the interface as access OR trunk.

But apparently in Alcatel, I found this both configuration exist in the switch.

vlan 10 port default 1/1 >>>>>>>>> this command makes the switch access port and assigned the vlan, if im not mastaking.

But I also see the same port being used to 802.1Q.

! 802.1Q :
vlan 4 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 4"
vlan 5 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 5"
vlan 6 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 6"

What is the impact of this? What will be the role of this port if these are the config.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

jagzeer
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Feb 2016 04:04

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by jagzeer » 06 Mar 2018 00:06

Update:

I was reading the manual and found the answer. In alcatel, the ports can support both untagged and tag packets.

But i still dont understand the logic for this use. If you can use trunk the ports then just add the all the vlans in the tag port. (no use ]

Let say, switch A tagging the vlans (ex. 4,5,6) of course switch B also will tag those vlans(4,5,6) to match.

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1194
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by silvio » 06 Mar 2018 01:43

the default vlan is like the native vlan. There is always one default vlan. All incoming 802.3-frames without vlan-tag will be forwarded to this default vlan. Per default tagged packets will be droped. Every 802.1q-tagged vlan has to be allowed at the ports. There is no "allow-all" tagged packets.
regards
Silvio

priyanjan
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jul 2015 03:55

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by priyanjan » 06 Mar 2018 05:21

jagzeer wrote:Hello guys,

I have an alcatel switch 6850 which I find some odd config.

Normally for cisco switch, if we can only configure the interface as access OR trunk.

But apparently in Alcatel, I found this both configuration exist in the switch.

vlan 10 port default 1/1 >>>>>>>>> this command makes the switch access port and assigned the vlan, if im not mastaking.

But I also see the same port being used to 802.1Q.

! 802.1Q :
vlan 4 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 4"
vlan 5 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 5"
vlan 6 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 6"

What is the impact of this? What will be the role of this port if these are the config.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
! 802.1Q :
vlan 4 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 4"
vlan 5 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 5"
vlan 6 802.1q 1/1 "TAG PORT 1/19 VLAN 6"

In above senario, you are assigning vlan to a trunk port and that port is 1/1. What ever with in brackets are just a description.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk


jagzeer
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Feb 2016 04:04

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by jagzeer » 06 Mar 2018 06:06

Hi, Silvio

Thanks for the clarification. However this scenario no longer exist in 6860 running in AOS 8.4.1.141.R03.

If port assigned to a default then cannot assign to trunk or vice versa.

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1194
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by silvio » 06 Mar 2018 11:08

In R7/R8 switches is the same behavior - only other commands to use it.
vlan xx member port|linkagg x/x/x tagged|untagged
At Alcatel there is no port-type like at cisco. You say which vlans are allowed at this port - tagged or untagged.
regards
Silvio

jagzeer
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Feb 2016 04:04

Re: 6850 config clarification

Post by jagzeer » 06 Mar 2018 22:07

Thanks Silvio. I just tested again and yes same behavior

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”