How to do L2 VLan Translation?

Post Reply
beterhans
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2018 00:48

How to do L2 VLan Translation?

Post by beterhans » 09 Apr 2018 02:05

Hi

I hope I could do vlan translation across some port on a 6850

like input 1/8 with vlan 40 and output 1/1 with vlan 1490
or
like input 1/8 with vlan 40 and output 1/1 with vlan 1490:20

checked manual only vlan staking is mentioned but not translation?
does it even support it?

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: How to do L2 VLan Translation?

Post by silvio » 09 Apr 2018 02:32

correct. No direct way beside vlan stacking or SPB (with R8 switches not 6850). For one vlan you can make a special config with two untagged ports and loop-cable between them (vlan 1490 tagged port 1/8, port 1/23 untagged vlan 1490 ----cable---port 1/24 vlan 20 untagged, vlan 20 tagged port 1/1). But this isn't a solution for a lot of vlans....
regards
Silvio

beterhans
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2018 00:48

Re: How to do L2 VLan Translation?

Post by beterhans » 09 Apr 2018 10:49

wah good idea!

anyway

I found how to do vlan staking

example up 40 => 1496:40
ethernet-service mode SERVICE
ethernet-service svlan 1496
ethernet-service service-name VIOP svlan 1496
ethernet-service svlan 1496 nni 1/1
ethernet-service sap 40 service-name VIOP
ethernet-service sap 40 uni 1/4
ethernet-service sap 40 cvlan 40

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6850 / 6850E”