OmniStack 6200 - Upgrade software and bootrom procedure

Post Reply
User avatar
nikolami
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Nov 2010 10:25

OmniStack 6200 - Upgrade software and bootrom procedure

Post by nikolami » 24 Nov 2010 05:30

Please I need help, if anyone has expirince with upgrade firmware and bootrom on Alcatel OS6200.

I did upgrade firmware and bootrom following procedure OS6200 user manual (transfer software and bootrom files to OS6200 flash: memory) .

Before upgrade:
lab_OS6248P# sh vers

Unit SW version Boot version HW version
------------------- ------------------- ------------------- -------------------
1 1.0.2.38 1.0.0.11 00.00.01

lab_OS6248P# sh bootvar
Unit Active image Selected for next boot
----------------------- ----------------------- -----------------------
1 image-1 image-1

lab_OS6248P# boot system image-2
lab_OS6248P# sh bootvar
Unit Active image Selected for next boot
----------------------- ----------------------- -----------------------
1 image-1 image-2


According to user manual this was the last step before reload.
After reload of switch it upgrade software version was 1.5.1.9, but bootvar shows that only image-2 is upgraded, and that image-1 still has old software 1.0.2.38.

lab_OS6248P# sh vers

Unit SW version Boot version HW version
------------------- ------------------- ------------------- -------------------
1 1.5.1.9 1.0.0.12 00.00.01

lab_OS6248P# show bootvar
Unit Image Filename Version Date Status
---- ----- --------- --------- --------------------- -----------
1 1 image-1 1.0.2.38 18-Oct-2006 12:50:10 Not active
1 2 image-2 1.5.1.9 12-May-2008 14:23:36 Active*

Strange that command dir shows that both images have same size?!

lab_OS6248P# dir
Directory of flash:

File Name Permission Flash Size Data Size Modified
------------------- ---------- ---------- --------- -----------------------
stat rw 524288 80 01-Jan-2000 01:02:14
image-1 rw 4325376 4325376 01-Jan-2000 01:05:03
image-2 rw 4325376 4325376 12-Nov-2010 12:53:36
dhcpsn.prv -- 131072 -- 01-Jan-2000 01:01:05
sshkeys.prv -- 262144 -- 01-Jan-2000 01:01:21
syslog1.sys r- 262144 -- 01-Jan-2000 01:01:42
syslog2.sys r- 262144 -- 01-Jan-2000 01:01:42
directry.prv -- 262144 -- 01-Jan-2000 01:01:05
startup-config rw 524288 2555 01-Jan-2000 01:01:25

Total size of flash: 15597568 bytes
Free size of flash: 4718592 bytes


Only solution for me was to once again upload software image to OS6200 flash: (this time not active image was image-1). Relaod switch again.


lab_OS6248P# sh vers

Unit SW version Boot version HW version
------------------- ------------------- ------------------- -------------------
1 1.5.1.9 1.0.0.12 00.00.01

lab_OS6248P# sh bootvar
Unit Image Filename Version Date Status
---- ----- --------- --------- --------------------- -----------
1 1 image-1 1.5.1.9 12-May-2008 16:32:04 Active*
1 2 image-2 1.5.1.9 12-May-2008 14:23:36 Not active

"*" designates that the image was selected for the next boot


Is it a regular that:
- 2 times upload software image file to OS6200 flash: and perform upgrade procedure (first time for image-2, and second time for image-1)?
- that »show bootvar« after upgrade (software 1.5.1.9) shows output in different format than before software upgrade (software 1.0.2.38)?

Best regards.

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1381
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Post by silvio » 25 Nov 2010 05:09

Hi,

all is normal:

- image upgrade (via copy tftp) is always to the inactive partition. So you have the possibility to go back to the older version.
- I've checked at me: the data-size in both images (I have 1.7.1.7 and 1.7.0.13) the same like at you 4325376
- the output of show bootvar is in newer version (this is a great step from 1.0 to 1.5 - actual 1.7) better than before

regards
Silvio

User avatar
nikolami
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Nov 2010 10:25

Post by nikolami » 25 Nov 2010 10:58

Hi Silvio,

Thank you for explanation about OS6200 images. It seems that command "dir" shows always that image size is 4325376 (regardless of the actual image file size). Looks like as bug.

I noticed one more strange thing on OS6200.
When I configured aaa authentication access for ssh or telnet, OS6200 don't shows these part "line ssh" and/or "line telnet" in running or startup configuration. So it is not possible to know how the user access to switch is configured. Before configuring aaa authentication access for ssh or telnet the running configuration had "line ssh" and "line telnet". So it not possible to change or remove that part of line ssh, because I don't see what is actual configuration.

For example, I configured:

aaa authentication login default local
aaa authentication enable default enable

enable password level 15 208f156d4a803025c284bb7878888 encrypted
username name password 9365ea12b2d910e1aceaacaaaaaa97a5 level 15 encrypted

ip ssh server
crypto key generate rsa

line ssh
login authentication default
enable authentication default

line telnet
login authentication default
enable authentication default


Show run:
aaa authentication enable default enable
aaa authentication login default local
line console
password e0f4bcf0df46dcc7ae8fb3b50d3eb44f encrypted
exit
enable password level 15 208f156d4a803025c284bb7878888 encrypted
username name password 9365ea12b2d910e1aceaacaaaaaa97a5 level 15 encrypted
ip ssh server
snmp-server location "LOCATION"...

Any advice how to resolve this issue?

Post Reply

Return to “OmniStack LS 6200”