CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post Reply
Rem
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Nov 2018 02:10

CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post by Rem » 04 Apr 2019 21:27

Hello,

I have an ACT-14 crystal hardware with two CPU-8 cards (Main & Standby) connected to the BRMA. I have to show a redundancy test wherein if main cpu-8 card goes down the standby CPU-8 must be main. The redundancy is working fine when i am giving a "shutdown" command to main CPU-8 card but problem is occurring when i am removing one of the LAN cable of CPU-8 from BRMA E0 or E1. I am losing the ping to virtual Ip and my standby CPU 8 card doesnt change its role to MAIN
Could anyone please help me with this if there is any physical jumper settings that needs to be done on the card?

Thank you

User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 12724
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post by frank » 09 Apr 2019 20:02

What's the result of the "twin" command ?
Code Free Or Die

Rem
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Nov 2018 02:10

Re: CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post by Rem » 09 Apr 2019 23:07

Hello Sir,

The twin status is established between both the main and standby CPU-8 cards. The status shows Ready.
The redundancy is working fine when I am giving a restart or shutdown command or if I am turning off the CPU8 card through one of the small on off switch in front of the card . The problem is when I am removing the Lan cable.

Thank you

vad
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 3526
Joined: 23 Sep 2004 06:47
Location: Russia

Re: CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post by vad » 09 Apr 2019 23:30

Why you think - if you disconnect Ethernet from CPU_1 - CPU_2 must become main?
Not works with CPU8 but hope - CPU8 works like as CPU7:
1 - you forbid embedded Ethernet (Ethernet between CPU) and connect PBX with two cables to the LAN
2 - you allow embedded Ethernet and connect with one cable to the LAN

In first case - when you disconnect one cable n(f.e. from main) - you lose connection between CPU and LAN. But CPU still main, PBX still works (but will be problem with IP equipment).

haroun
Member
Posts: 910
Joined: 29 Mar 2010 11:09

Re: CPU -8 LAN PORT REDUNDANCY

Post by haroun » 10 Apr 2019 11:05

working with cpu7 , in the CBRMA BOX i use always the port of the standaby as AP to the lan ; ans as said BY vad you have embeded ethernet , try to put the second port in the lan and u will rise troubles

Post Reply

Return to “Boards”