Change admin password via script

Post Reply
dogx010299
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2012 02:35

Change admin password via script

Post by dogx010299 » 12 Aug 2014 23:39

Dear All,

I got 32 Switches (OS6850), and 1 OV Server(OmniVista 2500 3.4.2GA) , every switch has 2 user "admin" and "omnivistauser"

Company's new policy tells that I need to change admin password and add more read-only users

Can I use OV's script to change the password instead telnet each switch ?

Or can I use other script like windows cmd or something ?

Thank you all, have a nice day.

Best regards,

Andy

User avatar
tgn
Member
Posts: 801
Joined: 30 Dec 2009 17:59
Location: Germany

Re: Change admin password via script

Post by tgn » 13 Aug 2014 02:01

didn't know the ov script.

but zoc is a great tool for scripting telnet, ssh or even serial commandline interfaces.

regards...
--- back to basics... focus your eyes to the essential things... ---

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Change admin password via script

Post by silvio » 17 Aug 2014 15:08

Yes, it's possible to use telnet script in OV for this.
regards
Silvio

dogx010299
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2012 02:35

Re: Change admin password via script

Post by dogx010299 » 17 Aug 2014 21:55

Dear Tgn,

Thanks for your apply.

I'll try to tell my supervisor about zoc.


Dear Silvio

Thanks for the apply.

Can you give me a hint about how to use it (script) ?

I'm trying to send password command, then send old password and new password to OmniSwitches

But I figured that I'm loggin with an OV account (ex: omnivistauser), not admin account.

So my password command will effect on my OV account not admin account.

I'm trying now is change OV's settings to login Switches by admin account, well...still working on it. :D

I will be appreciate if you can give me a hint. Thanks!

Best regards to all, and wish you all have a nice day.

Andy

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Change admin password via script

Post by silvio » 20 Aug 2014 15:55

Hi Andy,
in the setting of all switches you have the telnet omnivista account (you will see it with right mouse - edit, thats the same account who you can create with the discovery wizzard). The same account must exist at the switches and need read-write there. You need this for using telnet/ssh (configuration > telnet, or at topology mark a switch with right mouse > current window > telnet). There you have a common telnet/ssh console like zoc or putty.
You need this rights also for the script - telnet or ssh must work via OV.
Every script you have to test before at one switch because in the switch you can't use TAB-key. If you set in the tree the mark at "Switches" you will see new Tabs "Create Scripts" where you can use your tested scripts. With "send scripts" you push them to your wished switches and with "View logs" you can check the outputs of the sended scripts.
with command >user admin password newpassword
you should be able to change the pw also for the admin. Your omnivistauser is this a local account at the switch or from an Radius/AD?
if so and you haven't the rights to change the admin pw than you can change with the discovery wizzard the telnet user to "admin", change the passwords and rights for all necessary users and at the end exchange via discovery the user back to omnivistauser.
hope that will help you
regards
silvio

dogx010299
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2012 02:35

Re: Change admin password via script

Post by dogx010299 » 25 Aug 2014 22:49

Dear Silvio,

Gratitude !

I'll try it a.s.a.p. !

Omnivistauser is local account at Switch.

Thank you and wish you have a nice day.

Best regards,

Andy

Post Reply

Return to “OmniVista 2500/2700 v3.4 and older”