Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

one6f
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 09:58

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by one6f » 09 Mar 2012 13:19

As far as I know there are no reset jumpers in 6800, 6600 model was assembled with jumper to break boot sequence.

filewalker
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Feb 2012 07:45

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by filewalker » 12 Mar 2012 14:33

Does anyone know a soultion?

Are there some ideas, what i can try to get the Switches back to live? I cant imagine, that all 3 Switches wont work at all. Even no console output. There mut be sth wrong.
Please help!

one6f
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 09:58

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by one6f » 12 Mar 2012 16:03

I suggest, you are looking for an Alcatel console adapter. If your switches are not broken you will see console output during the booting time.

thefreeaccount
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Dec 2011 07:43

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by thefreeaccount » 19 Mar 2012 01:01

In the hardware user guide, the pinout is very strange. It says:
1 NC
2 NC
3 RXD
4 GND
5 GND
6 TXD
7 NC
8 NC
But for terminal connection you need more than just rxd und txd. even if they mean 3-->RXD+ 4-->RXD-,... this woult be strange, wouldn´t it?
The pinout in the hardware guide is correct. For a serial cable, you need only 3 signals - send, receive, signal ground, and ready, which is itself shorted to ground in the absence of flow control (ie, "always ready"). There is no +/- because the signal is not balanced.
But they [RJ45 pins] ar number this way, if i get it wright now:
8 6 4 2
7 5 3 1
Yes, that is right.

Are there some ideas, what i can try to get the Switches back to live? I cant imagine, that all 3 Switches wont work at all. Even no console output. There mut be sth wrong. Please help!
Agreed...any kind of schematic, hint as to what might be wrong, or direction to begin troubleshooting would be very welcome. I tried opening the switch and there were a great many jumpers all over the place. My guess is that a capacitor somewhere needs to be replaced, or maybe solder reflowed or perhaps a flash chip replaced. With other switches, the main unfixable problem is switch fabric deterioration, which usually causes several ports to go bad well before the switch blows up.

It's frustrating that so little information is available about Alcatel's products. The switches themselves seem decent, but I can understand why everyone seems to rate Alcatel as the vendor of last resort.

aruijtenberg
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Feb 2013 05:25

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by aruijtenberg » 19 Jan 2017 14:45

You can use a Cisco DB9 to RJ45 console cable with a RJ45 coupler and these pinouts. (see attachment)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

czjon74
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Apr 2017 02:12

Re: Omniswitch 6800-48 No Boot

Post by czjon74 » 03 Jul 2017 20:37

DB-9 RJ-45 Pinout from Alcatel
_____________________________________________
1 0
2 6
3 3
4 2
5 4
6 7
7 1
8 8
9 0[/code]

This is the NUT right here gentlemen. All the colors don't mean jack if you are using a db9 to rj45 connector from Shing-lin-a-ding china, You have to use the numbers above. They worked great.

Long story what I derived was, coming from Port 1 of the Ethernet Cable (on the right column above) to the DB9 on the left column above, yields a correct terminal connection.

EXCELLENT notes and reply my friend!

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6800”