NTP NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.2, New server 10.0.0.1

Post Reply
Sammy123
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 May 2018 14:49

NTP NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.2, New server 10.0.0.1

Post by Sammy123 » 22 May 2018 14:58

hi, can anybody solve this problem I am facing in 7201 SAS, I have configured NTP In 7210 and In logs my NTP keeps on changing from Server ip to new ip. below is the logs

NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.2, New server 10.0.0.1.
NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.1, New server 10.0.0.2

Below is the NTP Server Configuration

ntp
server 10.0.0.1
server 10.0.0.2
server 10.0.0.3
server 10.0.0.4
no shutdown

thanks if anybody can help me

paramount
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 17:18

Re: NTP NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.2, New server 10.0.0.1

Post by paramount » 23 May 2018 02:29

Hi,

Is your network stable, is NTP server other side of a firewall?
Have seen similar where packets are going through a firewall and the sessions are timing out etc.

If this happens often, stick a constant ping on to NTP server to verify reachability of IP. IF all stable and still you get changes, need to look at what lies between network and NTP server maybe.

paramount

mivens
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: 28 Sep 2012 06:34

Re: NTP NTP server has changed: Old server 10.0.0.2, New server 10.0.0.1

Post by mivens » 23 May 2018 03:49

It's normal for the NTP source to switch, even with a stable network.
You can ignore the message.
You can suppress it with the command

configure log event-control "ntp" tmnxNtpServerChange suppress

The behaviour on the 7750 was changed in 12.0R16 and 13.0R7 to suppress this message by default, because it isn't an error.

I don't believe this has been done on the 7210 yet.

Post Reply

Return to “7210 SAS”