IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

ludo2k
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Mar 2020 05:32

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by ludo2k »

Hi, tried here over Sophos VPN, everything is good (cnx or internal call) except when calling or receiving call from outside, I can hear people but they can't hear me, any idea?

Already checked firewall, seems good.
dvid9976
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 04:10

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by dvid9976 »

did you try to add a rule in the firewall for the traffic going back from the oxe towards the softphone?
fliegerswahn
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Jul 2012 10:43

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by fliegerswahn »

....to anyone who claims to be smarter than me :)))
need your help!!!!
Thanxx for quick responding!

Alcatel OXO R22/009.002, Softphone R0.01.11

Softphone to Softphone > no problem
Extern to Softphone via VPN > no problem
Softphone (VPN) to Softphone (VPN) >phone rings, connection is made but impossible to speak or listen to each other.
User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 2844
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by frank »

Anytime you have a connection but no audio, it's because of a network problem rather than equipment.
Either routes are not defined, or ports are blocked
Code Free Or Die
fliegerswahn
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Jul 2012 10:43

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by fliegerswahn »

Thank you very much for your quick response!
Is there any possibility that all softphone calls running over the main unit?
But not „peer to peer“....
fery_s
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 08 Nov 2014 06:38

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by fery_s »

fliegerswahn wrote: 02 Jun 2020 08:16 ....to anyone who claims to be smarter than me :)))
need your help!!!!
Thanxx for quick responding!

Alcatel OXO R22/009.002, Softphone R0.01.11

Softphone to Softphone > no problem
Extern to Softphone via VPN > no problem
Softphone (VPN) to Softphone (VPN) >phone rings, connection is made but impossible to speak or listen to each other.
are the both of phone over VPN in a same network lan? do you check the RTP ports in the Firewall? when they are direct talk to each others using "Direct RTP" and when you have no voice between them that's means there is no IP routing between two sub networks or may be firewall block RTP ports.
ludo2k
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Mar 2020 05:32

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by ludo2k »

ludo2k wrote: 27 Mar 2020 05:36 Hi, tried here over Sophos VPN, everything is good (cnx or internal call) except when calling or receiving call from outside, I can hear people but they can't hear me, any idea?

Already checked firewall, seems good.
This is now fixed for me.

We talked to our provider, sysadmin, and voip partner, someone touch something because when we tried again it's now fully working.
It works even with the Android App, not very stable, but it works.

Great solution for working at home when necessary.
junoooni
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: 29 Aug 2016 02:34

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by junoooni »

Sorry guys, was out of touch for long time...my issue was resolved by my Firewall engineer... communication between VPN subnet and PBX subnet was alllowed but required TCP ports and tftp was blocked
User avatar
frank
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 2844
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 00:18
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by frank »

Glade you found the issue !
Code Free Or Die
User avatar
enio.eltz
Senior Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: 28 Jul 2009 09:48
Location: Taquara - RS - Brazil

Re: IP Desktop Softphone over VPN

Post by enio.eltz »

Wrong post. Checking for remove it.
Enio Eltz Filho
ACFE OXE R12
ACFE OXO C R3
Post Reply

Return to “Ip Desktop Softphone”