linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post Reply
ydeschoe
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 30 Dec 2008 07:54

linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by ydeschoe » 28 Nov 2011 07:26

Gents,

does anybody have any experience with setting up a HPc7000 blade enclosure with 2 FlexFabric modules to a MC-LAG setup of 2 10K switches

following the HP guide from the moment you please 2 links inside the Same Shared uplink set (SUS) it will use the LACP protocol to establish a link.

Now I'm using 2 10G links inside the same SUS on the same module but the LACP (MC-LAG) doesn't come up on the 10K switches, the status from the LACP is on RESERVED, no idea what this mean.

What I also see on the GUI from the flexfabric cards is that the links are in active/standby iso active/active. The links have also a different LAG ID on the same card, following the guide they should have the same LAG ID.

Thanks for you response

Yves

User avatar
cedric1
Member
Posts: 603
Joined: 26 May 2009 18:00
Location: Luxembourg ACSE R6

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by cedric1 » 29 Nov 2011 09:59

hello

I have no experience with 10K and MC-LAG, but did you try to make a simple config with a lacp on on switch only.

If it is ok, MC-lag should be transparent to your hp system

Cedric

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 831
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by devnull » 29 Nov 2011 10:41

From my experience (MC-LAG with 6900) Cedric is right. From the "Edge side" you should only have a plain normal LACP.

Works here with ALU Stacks and Cisco connecting to a MC-LAG on 6900s, I have no HP...

MC-Lag is working in general?

ydeschoe
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 30 Dec 2008 07:54

Post by ydeschoe » 15 Dec 2011 13:36

All,

seems to be a known problem

There is a sync problem between HP and device and 10K.

This should be solved after a software upgrade which we plan after our IT freeze in the middle of January.

The problem is known also on the 6900 MC-LAG setup by Alcatel.

I will keep you updated after the upgrade

Yves

User avatar
cedric1
Member
Posts: 603
Joined: 26 May 2009 18:00
Location: Luxembourg ACSE R6

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by cedric1 » 27 Jan 2012 14:23

hello

Yes it is what i listen from other collegue.

Fix is available as i heard.

Cedric

ydeschoe
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 30 Dec 2008 07:54

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by ydeschoe » 06 Feb 2012 09:27

After the upgrade of the AOS we are now able to connect HP Flexfabric Modules in a MC-LAG setup to the 10K switches.

problem solved

Yves

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 831
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by devnull » 06 Feb 2012 09:41

Which release are you using?

ydeschoe
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 30 Dec 2008 07:54

Re: linking a HP C7000 with flexfabric module

Post by ydeschoe » 08 Feb 2012 04:26

We are running now the following soft release

OS10K 7.1.1.1736.R01 Service Release

This version is not available on the portal for download, you need to obtain it via your support contract

yves

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 10k”