Qos for ALE opentouch query

Post Reply
User avatar
stunshot
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 18 Mar 2010 06:08
Location: UK

Qos for ALE opentouch query

Post by stunshot » 12 Dec 2017 06:47

Hi all, hope someone can assist.

I am familiar with the ALE switching products but have a question re implementing QOS for opentouch, which I have no familiarity.

I believe there is a softphone (client runs on a laptop/smartphone) what is the ALE recommended aproach for implementing QOS on the switching side, all ALE equipment.

Thanks

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Qos for ALE opentouch query

Post by silvio » 04 Mar 2018 03:23

Hi,
often the softphones are already sending priorisiced packets (with DSCP = 46). So you only need to trust them (trust global or trust at ports). But if you are not sure about this the best way is to create your policy depending from udp port. You have to check which udp-ports the pbx is using (f.e. 32512...32768). And than you create your action with setting DSCP by yourself depending of the udp port range.
regards
Silvio

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6900”