POE not function when power instability

Post Reply
wan_zull
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Aug 2017 23:34

POE not function when power instability

Post by wan_zull » 15 Aug 2017 00:15

Hi,
I have issue at my customer places. Our OS6450-P24 the POE not function when got power trip at DB box. Power trip at DB box maybe because of power instability or lightning strike. This switch connected to CCTV camera, Synchronize clock and IP Phone. From NMS look like this switch working fine but all equipment connected not function.
-> show lanpower 1
Port Maximum(mW) Actual Used(mW) Status Priority On/Off Class
----+-----------+---------------+-----------+---------+--------+-------
1 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
2 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
3 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
4 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
5 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
6 31000 0 Powered Off Low ON -
Temporary to solve this problem we remote this switch from NMS and do lanpower stop 1 and lanpower start 1, after that all equipment connected back to normal.
The problem will happened again when got power issue to the switch.
Need help from who have experience on this kind problem.
TQ

Chrisbf1
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Jan 2017 11:59

Re: POE not function when power instability

Post by Chrisbf1 » 16 Aug 2017 02:43

i have exactly the same problem, any help would be appreciated

Chris

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1124
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: POE not function when power instability

Post by silvio » 16 Aug 2017 09:59

Hi,
If the issue is recreatable than you both should open a ticket at alcatel.
regards
Silvio

Sidlahar
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 18 Jul 2011 11:28

Re: POE not function when power instability

Post by Sidlahar » 17 Aug 2017 08:36

Hi,
what software is running in the affected switches? Are you using Backup Powersupplies? Is it possible to bring back single ports by using lanpowr start 1/1 or do you have to reinitiliaze the whole PoE-Module?
Best regards
Sidlahar

wan_zull
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Aug 2017 23:34

Re: POE not function when power instability

Post by wan_zull » 15 Oct 2017 23:08

Hi,
Software using 6.6.5.118.R02 and Miniboot 6.7.1.54.R02. Not using BPS, Normally execute lanpower start 1.

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 6918
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: POE not function when power instability

Post by cavagnaro » 20 Oct 2017 16:35

I do remember similar problem in old 6200 switches, backup power was mandatory as energy fluctuation may induce problems.


Enviado de meu E6633 usando Tapatalk

Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”