OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post Reply
jeremy13400
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 28 May 2012 08:50

OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by jeremy13400 » 14 Nov 2016 07:20

Hello,

Everytime power goes off, I have to restart my OTBE manually which is a bit annoying. Im pretty sure there must be a BIOS parameter that I could change to fix this but I don't really want to stop the server just to check. Tried looking all tech docs but I did't find anything related although it seems to be a basic issue.
Does anyone know if it's possible?

Thank you :)

rolfo333
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Jun 2015 09:55

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by rolfo333 » 14 Nov 2016 07:47

Hello,

do you mean the server itself or the services and virtual machines on the OTBE itself?

For the server, I would search for the autostart option depending on your server model.
For the services, to my mind, they are started automatically when you boot the server.

Br
rolfo

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 7001
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by cavagnaro » 14 Nov 2016 08:25

Bios? Uh? What kind of server is this?

Enviado de meu E6633 usando Tapatalk
Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

jeremy13400
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 28 May 2012 08:50

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by jeremy13400 » 14 Nov 2016 11:09

Im talking about the server itself. I already managed to configure automatic startup for VMs (not enabled by default).
I tried looking a little on server docs but I didn't find the info I need, I should probably recheck more carefuly.

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 7001
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by cavagnaro » 14 Nov 2016 11:55

So power goes off, server turns off as there is no energy... You expect it to come back as soon as energy comes back? Is that it? Never saw a server do that...would be even risky, what if you have energy peaks and stability issues? Could end in a fried server

Enviado de meu E6633 usando Tapatalk
Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

jeremy13400
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 28 May 2012 08:50

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by jeremy13400 » 17 Nov 2016 04:20

This is exactly what I expect, all my other servers do this and It's totally fine. The problem with OTBE not coming up automatically is that I don't notice it instantly because I have CPU B elsewhere. I only notice it when my AA isn't reachable anymore and the users complain about it.

User avatar
cavagnaro
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 7001
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 19:45
Location: Brasil, Porto Alegre
Contact:

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by cavagnaro » 17 Nov 2016 06:32

Can't be because what you are talking about would be a software layer where detects other applications via TCP. What you say is level 1 in OSI layer. So...no, no way that to be the cause. Talk to the provider of the server Hardware, IBM, HP, Dell, and ask them how to set it up.


Enviado de meu E6633 usando Tapatalk
Ignorance is not the problem, the problem is the one who doesn't want to learn

OTUC/ICS ACFE/ACSE R3.0/4.0/5.0/6.0
Certified Genesys CIV 8.5
Certified Genesys Troubleshooting 8.5
Certified Genesys BEP 8.x
Genesys Developer

rolfo333
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Jun 2015 09:55

Re: OTBE Automatic startup after power failure?

Post by rolfo333 » 17 Nov 2016 06:38

Hello,

I know that servers can start automatically after power comes back but if this is not the case you should find out the server model you are using and try to find this option using google for example.

It has nothing to do with the OTBE itself.

Br
rolfo

Post Reply

Return to “OTBE - OpenTouch Business Edition”