Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post Reply
mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 06 Feb 2018 06:03

Hi,
Just got two 6860 routers, and by default these create vlans in the range of 4xxx.
Is there a way to disable these automated vlans?

thanks in advance

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1196
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by silvio » 06 Feb 2018 11:15

You can disable the auto-fabric funktion. This function enables a lot of auto-*** things. F.e. MVRP and SPB. And the 4xxx vlans are the backbone vlans for SPB.
Use the following command - within R8.4 all the automaticly created functions/setting are disable with this:

Code: Select all

auto-fabric admin-state disable remove-global-config
regards
Silvio

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 06 Feb 2018 11:37

thanks silvio, i tried your command but VLAN 4094 was still created ... I need to check also what will happen when I add linkagg interfaces.

Code: Select all

-> show vlan
 vlan    type   admin   oper    ip    mtu          name
------+-------+-------+------+------+------+------------------
1      std       Dis     Dis   Dis    1500    VLAN 1
111    std       Ena     Ena   Ena    1500    TEMP OAM
122    std       Ena     Ena   Ena    1500    INTRA_CORE
4094   vcm       Ena     Dis   Dis    1500    VCM IPC

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1196
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by silvio » 06 Feb 2018 14:04

4096 is always there. It is necessary for IPC (interprocess communication) between the virtual chassis members. You have to avoid to use this vlan.
regards
Silvio

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 06 Feb 2018 14:22

Ok thanks. Tomorrow will continue to make some sample config before putting it live. Thanks for your help.

Using the suggested disable command, will I need to crear tele stp commands manually?

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 07 Feb 2018 04:00

hi again Silvio,
on a post on this forum, it was suggested to perform thew following commands ... are these are required?
auto-fabric admin-state disable remove-global-config
mvrp disable
spb isis admin-state disable
no spb bvlan 4000-4015
spantree mode per-vlan

silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1196
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by silvio » 07 Feb 2018 04:56

in older releases all of them where necessary. This commands where my advice for a long time. But since half a year or so the first command make all of them in one.
But there is no problem to use all of them.
Also you should always check the success of your commands. F.e. if you wish the per-vlan-stp mode (1x1 in R6) than you should check this.
(show spantree cist, show spb config, show vlan, show mvrp config or similar....)
regards
Silvio

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 07 Feb 2018 07:12

I am running OS6860-24 8.4.1.170.R01 (April 25, 2017)
Will check again what you suggested and update post

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Auto config of VLANs on 6860

Post by mouthpiec » 08 Feb 2018 14:09

Hi, the command "auto-fabric admin-state disable" did the job

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6860 / 6860E”