Static Route to Null

Post Reply
mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Static Route to Null

Post by mouthpiec » 31 May 2018 14:05

Hi,
I need to advertise a static IP through BGP, but for this to work I need to have a static route for this IP address.

Is there a way to make a route to null or blackhole?
I tried route towards 127.0.0.1 and also towards the IP interface configure on the switch but I am getting an error that I cannot route towards an interface that exists on the switch.

Any help?

User avatar
benny
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 745
Joined: 20 Oct 2007 14:51
Contact:

Re: Static Route to Null

Post by benny » 01 Jun 2018 03:36

Starting AOS >= 7.3.4.236.R02 (and later) you should be able to use this command to create a black hole route:

-> ip static-route 2.2.2.2/32 interface Loopback metric 1
Regards,
Benny

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Static Route to Null

Post by mouthpiec » 01 Jun 2018 07:23

thanks Benny.
Will try it out.

mouthpiec
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 10:58

Re: Static Route to Null

Post by mouthpiec » 01 Jun 2018 11:17

worked great Benny!
thanks again

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6860 / 6860E”