[Solved]No more console output

Post Reply
yves67
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Dec 2018 10:28

[Solved]No more console output

Post by yves67 » 09 Dec 2018 15:19

Hello
I am just strating to play with the 6350 switch
I was connected to the switch via the console, no problem
I entered this command

aaa authentication http local

but I didn't do a write command

suddently the console was not working

I power off/on the switch, nothing on the console terminal ??

I test my cable to another unit, ok
I test the switch and calbe on another pc (linux) same problem

is the switch dead ?
normally I must see something when the switch start ?

thanks for any help
Last edited by yves67 on 14 Dec 2018 13:01, edited 1 time in total.

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 958
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: No more console output

Post by devnull » 10 Dec 2018 08:02

Normally you should see something on your serial console while rebooting.
The change you have done will not (Should not) result in such error.
Have you checked the Console cable on a different switch?

May either be dead Serial Console (cable) or a died switch. Both somewhat unlikely

yves67
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Dec 2018 10:28

Re: No more console output

Post by yves67 » 10 Dec 2018 15:57

Thanks for your answer
Yes, I have checked the cable, do the test on another PC (linux)
I didn't have another switch, but be able to test the serial/usb cable witn another unit
I checked the DB9/RJ45 alcatel, ok
It seems that the console port is dead ...
The switch seems working, but I cannot do any parameters....

The customer will give another switch

Thanks yves67

dleiva
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Apr 2019 06:39

Re: [Solved]No more console output

Post by dleiva » 20 Apr 2019 09:48

Hello,

I thought it was me but when trying to do the first setup by console, I just can't enter CLI via console port to a 6350 10P.

Did the same as the OP as manual specifies (9600 baud, 8 data bits, 1 stop bit, no flow control, no parity) but I don't get any output. Tried different switch, Alcatel console adaptor, rj45 cable... I'm not new into this but I look like a rookie. Only output I get is if I type randomly keys i get typical wrong characters, like I had to change baud speed or another missing parameter.

If I try in a 6350 24P with its adaptor it is working fine. What am I missing here?

devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 958
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: [Solved]No more console output

Post by devnull » 23 Apr 2019 03:04

Normally 9600 8N1 together with alcatel Adaptor and normal (straight) Rj45 should be fine.

If you encounter this on different switches try another PC/console-cable/RS232-USB adapter (i had one lindy that seems to have developed similar feature, depending on "how the cable is bend" - another RS232/USB adaptor turned out fine)

If the same combination works on another switch.. hmmm..
Did you ever change the baud speed in miniboot? If you have some time try different bauds speeds and see whether you find the correct one.

Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6350”