Making of switch port as routing port

Post Reply
mumer1166
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Oct 2018 04:25

Making of switch port as routing port

Post by mumer1166 »

Dear Team
I am new to Alcatel omni switches. Currently i am using OS6350 & OS6450. I just want to give an IP address to a specific interface to make it a routing interface.
In simple i just want to make a switch port as routing port, as we do on a cisco L3 switch by giving a (no switch port) command and give that interface a specific IP to make it a routing port. How is this possible in Alcatel switches?
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by silvio »

At switches (initialy designed as L2-devices) all the ports are associated at least with one vlan (per default connected to vlan 1). And now you can create a ip-interface for the vlan (in my knowledge this is the same at other vendors and also at cisco switches).

Code: Select all

ip interface VLAN-1 address x.x.x.x/x vlan 1
regards
Silvio
mumer1166
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Oct 2018 04:25

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by mumer1166 »

Dear Silvio
My exact question was that i want to make a routed port in OS 6350, how is it possible??
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by silvio »

if you have two or more ip interfaces than they will route between both the networks ....
mumer1166
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Oct 2018 04:25

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by mumer1166 »

How can i do this...please guide me
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by silvio »

create vlan and put different ports to different vlan, f.e. untagged with:

Code: Select all

vlan 2 name xxx
vlan 3 namce xxx
vlan 1 port default 1/1-4
vlan 2 port default 1/5-7
vlan 3 port default 1/8
create ip interfaces for all the vlans

Code: Select all

ip interface VLAN-1 address 192.168.1.1/24 vlan 1
ip interface VLAN-2 address 192.168.2.1/24 vlan 2
ip interface VLAN-3 address 192.168.3.1/24 vlan 3
Thats all at the switch. Per default routing is activated at the ip interfaces.

regards
Silvio
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Making of switch port as routing port

Post by devnull »

In this case you configure it similar to a vlan interface on cisco.

There is a way to configure a Router Port (singlre port vlan interface) in other devices:
check manual for "ip interface rtr-port" but afaik this is for 6860/6900 not for 6350
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6350”