Unable to ping VLAN interface

eugene
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 17 Dec 2018 19:24

Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by eugene »

Hi experts,

I'm a newbie to Alcatel switches.

I have 3x stacked OS6450. I configured VLAN 110 which spans across all 3 switches. The commands I ran on the PRIMARY switch are:

Code: Select all

vlan 110 name "mgmt"
vlan 110 port default 1/2
vlan 110 port default 1/4
...
vlan 110 port default 2/2
vlan 110 port default 2/4
...
vlan 110 port default 3/2
vlan 110 port default 3/4
...
ip interface vlan-110 address 10.10.1.1/16 vlan 110
The vlan-110 interface was configured purely for switch management. After setting it up, I can neither ping it nor the hosts in the same VLAN.

Code: Select all

-> ping 10.10.1.13 source-interface vlan-110
PING 10.10.1.13: 56 data bytes
The specified source IP interface is not UP
no answer from 10.10.1.13
On an independent (ie. not stacked) OS6900 switch, I did the same and I could ping the configured interface. I could only surmise that the stacking has done something to the network.

Any tips how to resolve this? Thanks in advance!
devnull
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 976
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 10:16
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by devnull »

You should be able to ping devices in the same vlan, means all devices at 1/2, 1/4, 2/2, 2/4, 3/2, 3/4 should be able to reach each other and should be able to reach the management IP 10.10.1.1 (if they have a matching IP/Netmask).

Is your stack setup correct?
What is the output of

"show stack topology"

The Message "IP Interface is not up, hints, that no port with vlan 110 has a link, hence the interface stays down. If it is up you don't need the source-interface as it will always use the "nearest" interface towards the target
eugene
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 17 Dec 2018 19:24

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by eugene »

My apologies. I wasn't aware that the forum doesn't send email notifications.
You should be able to ping devices in the same vlan, means all devices at 1/2, 1/4, 2/2, 2/4, 3/2, 3/4 should be able to reach each other and should be able to reach the management IP 10.10.1.1 (if they have a matching IP/Netmask).
I'm aware of that this should be the case. However, the interface isn't pingable after setting it up. The ports in VLAN 110 are active and working as expected.

This is the interface's config from "write terminal". After configuring it, the interface isn't pingable.

Code: Select all

-> write terminal
...
! IP :
ip service all
ip interface "vlan-110" address 10.10.1.1 mask 255.255.0.0 vlan 110 local-proxy-arp primary ifindex 1
...

-> ping 10.10.1.1
PING 10.10.1.1: 56 data bytes

   [0         ] T
no answer from 10.10.1.1
What is the output of"show stack topology"

Code: Select all

-> show stack topology

                                         Link A  Link A          Link B  Link B
NI      Role      State   Saved  Link A  Remote  Remote  Link B  Remote  Remote
                          Slot   State   NI      Port    State   NI      Port
----+-----------+--------+------+-------+-------+-------+-------+-------+-------
   1 PRIMARY     RUNNING    1    UP          2   StackB  UP          3   StackA
   2 SECONDARY   RUNNING    2    UP          3   StackB  UP          1   StackA
   3 IDLE        RUNNING    3    UP          1   StackB  UP          2   StackA
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by silvio »

Disable "local-proxy-arp" at your ip-interface.

And please post the output of the following:
show vlan 110 port
show mac-address-table 110
show ip interface

best regards
Silvio
eugene
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 17 Dec 2018 19:24

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by eugene »

Here you go. A thousand thanks for your help!

After reconfiguring the interface to remove proxy-arp. No idea how it got there.

Code: Select all

-> ip interface vlan-110 address 10.10.1.1/16 vlan 110
-> show ip interface
Total 3 interfaces
             Name                   IP Address     Subnet Mask   Status Forward  Device
--------------------------------+---------------+---------------+------+-------+--------
Loopback                         127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0           UP      NO Loopback
vlan-100                         10.0.1.1        255.255.0.0         UP     YES vlan 100
vlan-110                         10.10.1.1       255.255.0.0         UP     YES vlan 110

-> write terminal
! IP :
ip service all
ip interface "vlan-110" address 10.10.1.1 mask 255.255.0.0 vlan 110 ifindex 1
ip interface "vlan-100" address 10.0.1.1 mask 255.255.0.0 vlan 100 ifindex 2

Code: Select all

-> show vlan 110 port
  port     type      status
--------+---------+--------------
  1/2     default     inactive
  1/4     default     inactive
  1/6     default     inactive
  1/8     default     inactive
  1/10    default   forwarding
  1/12    default   forwarding
  1/14    default   forwarding
  1/16    default   forwarding
  1/18    default   forwarding
  1/20    default   forwarding
  2/2     default   forwarding
  2/4     default     inactive
  2/6     default     inactive
  2/8     default     inactive
  2/10    default   forwarding
  2/12    default   forwarding
  2/14    default   forwarding
  2/16    default   forwarding
  2/18    default   forwarding
  2/20    default   forwarding
  3/2     default   forwarding
  3/4     default     inactive
  3/6     default     inactive
  3/8     default     inactive
  3/10    default     inactive
  3/12    default   forwarding
  3/14    default   forwarding
  3/16    default   forwarding
  3/18    default   forwarding
  3/20    default     inactive

->  show mac-address-table 110
Legend: Mac Address: * = address not valid

   Vlan      Mac Address          Type       Protocol    Operation    Interface
  ------+-------------------+--------------+-----------+------------+-----------
   110    d0:94:66:83:00:66        learned         ---      bridging      1/10
   110    d0:94:66:82:ea:2d        learned         ---      bridging      1/12
   110    d0:94:66:83:0b:35        learned         ---      bridging      1/14
   110    d0:94:66:82:fb:93        learned         ---      bridging      1/16
   110    d0:94:66:83:09:34        learned         ---      bridging      1/18
   110    d0:94:66:7d:4b:32        learned         ---      bridging      1/20
   110    00:e0:ec:4e:fa:5a        learned         ---      bridging      2/2
   110    d0:94:66:7d:32:b8        learned         ---      bridging      2/10
   110    d0:94:66:82:fd:cd        learned         ---      bridging      2/12
   110    d0:94:66:7d:81:7d        learned         ---      bridging      2/14
   110    d0:94:66:83:0c:e6        learned         ---      bridging      2/16
   110    14:02:ec:33:a9:7c        learned         ---      bridging      3/2
   110    1c:98:ec:15:69:04        learned         ---      bridging      3/12
   110    1c:98:ec:16:11:a0        learned         ---      bridging      3/14
   110    1c:98:ec:15:39:e4        learned         ---      bridging      3/16
   110    1c:98:ec:16:11:e4        learned         ---      bridging      3/18

Total number of Valid MAC addresses above = 16
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by silvio »

:)
eugene
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 17 Dec 2018 19:24

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by eugene »

I forgot to mention that I still cannot ping the interface. Removing proxy-arp didn't change anything :P
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by silvio »

Can you ping in the other direction - from a computer to the switch (all in the same vlan)? Can you find your devices within the mac-table and arp-table (show arp) within the correct vlan?
Have you checked your clients: firewall, are there other interfaces like wlan, VMware or VPN (if yes disable them)....?
Are this behavior for all the clients and ip interfaces the same?
Put the output also for "show arp" and all the config "show configuration snapshot".

regards
Silvio
eugene
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: 17 Dec 2018 19:24

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by eugene »

This is hardly a good answer but the vlan interface worked after a hard reset of all the switches in the stack. What I did was:
  1. Disconnect all stacking cables
  2. Reboot all switches
  3. On each switch, run

    Code: Select all

    rm /flash/working/boot.cfg
    rm /flash/certified/boot.cfg
    
  4. Reboot the switches and reconnect the stacking cables
I had the luxury of fixing switches not in production, so this isn't a solution for everyone. I suspect that the source of my problems was using the switches out of the box. I had crazy problems with the OS6900 ootb as well, and I fixed it by wiping out the default config and anything that's auto-configured.
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 10:51
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to ping VLAN interface

Post by silvio »

Thanks for your solution. I prefer allways to do an update also at brand new switches.
For the OS6900/OS6860 there are some posts how to disable autofabric functions. Most people didn't understand how the lot of build-in autoconfigs are work and so its better to disable all of them.
regards
Silvio
Post Reply

Return to “OmniSwitch 6450”