second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post Reply
joverdijk
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jul 2018 16:38

second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by joverdijk »

Hi

I am trying to setup a second MDA on EVE-NG
Running:
# TiMOS-B-13.0.R4 both/i386 ALCATEL SR 7750 Copyright (c) 2000-2015 Alcatel-Lucent.

Startup commandline ( "gns3 rule" )
chassis=SR-7 card=iom3-xp mda/1=m5-1gb-sfp-b mda/2=m5-1gb-sfp-b

I have configured second MDA with no shutdown


#--------------------------------------------------
echo "Card Configuration"
#--------------------------------------------------
card 1
card-type iom3-xp-b
mda 1
mda-type m5-1gb-sfp-b
no shutdown
exit
mda 2
mda-type m5-1gb-sfp-b
no shutdown
exit
no shutdown
exit


But it does show as 'not equipped' :

*A:nokia1.lab#
*A:nokia1.lab# show mda

===============================================================================
MDA Summary
===============================================================================
Slot Mda Provisioned Type Admin Operational
Equipped Type (if different) State State
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 1 m5-1gb-sfp-b up up
2 m5-1gb-sfp-b up provisioned
(not equipped)
===============================================================================
*A:nokia1.lab#
*A:nokia1.lab#


Ports stay in 'Ghost mode'

*A:nokia1.lab# show port

===============================================================================
Ports on Slot 1
===============================================================================
Port Admin Link Port Cfg Oper LAG/ Port Port Port C/QS/S/XFP/
Id State State MTU MTU Bndl Mode Encp Type MDIMDX
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1/1/1 Up Yes Up 8936 8936 - netw null xcme GIGE-LX 10KM
1/1/2 Up Yes Up 8936 8936 - netw null xcme GIGE-LX 10KM
1/1/3 Up Yes Up 8936 8936 - netw null xcme GIGE-LX 10KM
1/1/4 Up Yes Up 8936 8936 - netw null xcme GIGE-LX 10KM
1/1/5 Up Yes Up 8936 8936 - netw null xcme GIGE-LX 10KM
1/2/1 Down No Ghost 8936 8936 - netw null xcme
1/2/2 Down No Ghost 8936 8936 - netw null xcme
1/2/3 Down No Ghost 8936 8936 - netw null xcme
1/2/4 Down No Ghost 8936 8936 - netw null xcme
1/2/5 Down No Ghost 8936 8936 - netw null xcme

===============================================================================
Ports on Slot A
===============================================================================
Port Admin Link Port Cfg Oper LAG/ Port Port Port C/QS/S/XFP/
Id State State MTU MTU Bndl Mode Encp Type MDIMDX
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A/1 Up Yes Up 1514 1514 - netw null faste MDI

===============================================================================
Ports on Slot B
===============================================================================
Port Admin Link Port Cfg Oper LAG/ Port Port Port C/QS/S/XFP/
Id State State MTU MTU Bndl Mode Encp Type MDIMDX
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
B/1 Up No Ghost 1514 1514 - netw null faste
===============================================================================
*A:nokia1.lab#


Anybody an idea on how to get the 2nd MDA up and running???

Thanks!
Stoffen
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: 23 May 2014 05:32
Location: Norway

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by Stoffen »

Hi.
I have no experience in EVE-NG, but in GNS3, I use the following to configure MDA 2.
This is distributed environment, with one CPM VM and one IOM VM.
License is needed to do this.
My test is done on SROS 15.

QEMU/smbios options:
CPM: -nographic -enable-kvm -uuid <my uuid> -smbios type=1,product="TIMOS:slot=A chassis=SR-7 card=sfm4-7 system-base-mac=e4:ec:1F:00:00:00"
IOM: -nographic -enable-kvm -smbios type=1,product="TIMOS:slot=1 chassis=SR-7 card=iom3-xp-c mda/1=m10-1gb-hs-sfp-b mda/2=m10-1gb-hs-sfp-b"

Code: Select all

A:vSIM# show card state 

===============================================================================
Card State
===============================================================================
Slot/  Provisioned Type                  Admin Operational   Num   Num Comments
Id         Equipped Type (if different)  State State         Ports MDA 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1      iom3-xp-c                         up    up                  2   
1/1    m10-1gb-hs-sfp-b                  up    up            10        
1/2    m10-1gb-hs-sfp-b                  up    up            10        
A      sfm4-7                            up    up                      Active
B      sfm4-7                            up    down                    Standby
           (not equipped)
===============================================================================
[flash=]
Christoffer

Network System Expert Norway
Nokia SRA #265
Alcatel-Lucent SRC 3RP Certified #552
Alcatel-Lucent SRC NRS-2 Certified #1104
Huawei HCNP Routing & Switching certified
Cisco CCNP Certified
LinkedIN
[/flash]
Stoffen
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: 23 May 2014 05:32
Location: Norway

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by Stoffen »

Managed to get two MDA's running on a SR-C12 chassis:

QEMU / SMBIOS options: -nographic -enable-kvm -uuid <uuid> -smbios type=1,product="TIMOS:slot=A chassis=SR-c12 card=cfm-xp mda/1=m5-1gb-sfp-b mda/5=m5-1gb-sfp-b"

Code: Select all

*A:vSIM>config>card#  show system information 

===============================================================================
System Information
===============================================================================
System Name            : vSIM
System Type            : 7750 SR-c12

*A:vSIM>config>card# show card state 

===============================================================================
Card State
===============================================================================
Slot/  Provisioned Type                  Admin Operational   Num   Num Comments
Id         Equipped Type (if different)  State State         Ports MDA 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1      iom-xp                            up    up                  12  
1/1    mcm-xp                            up    up                      
1/5    mcm-xp                            up    up                      
1/1    m5-1gb-sfp-b                      up    up            5         
1/5    m5-1gb-sfp-b                      up    up            5         
A      cfm-xp                            up    up                      Active
B      cfm-xp                            up    down                    Standby
           (not equipped)
===============================================================================

A:vSIM>config>card# sh
[flash=]
Christoffer

Network System Expert Norway
Nokia SRA #265
Alcatel-Lucent SRC 3RP Certified #552
Alcatel-Lucent SRC NRS-2 Certified #1104
Huawei HCNP Routing & Switching certified
Cisco CCNP Certified
LinkedIN
[/flash]
Stoffen
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: 23 May 2014 05:32
Location: Norway

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by Stoffen »

I can't seem to enable two MDA's in SR-7 environment in GNS3 running standalone SROS 13.
Perhaps SR-C12 can help you?

Note, I've encountered issues on SROS13 when using more than 6 ports in a VM.
The following ports did not forward traffic..
[flash=]
Christoffer

Network System Expert Norway
Nokia SRA #265
Alcatel-Lucent SRC 3RP Certified #552
Alcatel-Lucent SRC NRS-2 Certified #1104
Huawei HCNP Routing & Switching certified
Cisco CCNP Certified
LinkedIN
[/flash]
joverdijk
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jul 2018 16:38

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by joverdijk »

Thanks for the information. This weekend I will try it with SR-C12 chassis.
I do not have a license so pretty much stuck with SROS13.
Eve-NG and GNS3 should not really make that much of a difference, i hope, maybe only other QEMU version etc.
Thank you very much for your info, you are very helpfull, knowledgable and active member of this forum ;-)
teenoko
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Aug 2018 09:42

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by teenoko »

I wish I could get a second MDA running on GNS3. I've not been successful.
I run TiMOS-B-13.0.R4 SRC12 fully licensed but no luck!
NRS II
CCNA RS
Stoffen
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: 23 May 2014 05:32
Location: Norway

Re: second MDA not equipped in EVE-NG

Post by Stoffen »

teenoko wrote: 15 Feb 2019 22:31 I wish I could get a second MDA running on GNS3. I've not been successful.
I run TiMOS-B-13.0.R4 SRC12 fully licensed but no luck!
Have you tested with SR-C12/C4 as well?
I managed to get this to work in my GNS3 setup.

If you have the licensed one, you can change to distributed mode, where
VM1 = CPM,
VM2 = IOM + MDA+MDA,
VM3 = IOM + MDA+MDA.

CPM VM need two ports, the management A/1 and a second 1/1/0 port that is used as virtual switchfabric.
On the IOM VM's you need two more ports than what your MDA's can support.
The unused A/1 port, and a 1/1/0 virtual switchfabric port.

Link the 1/1/0 ports together, to connect the IOM to the CPM.
If you have more than one IOM, use an ethernet switch in between to ensure the connection.


CPM VM Additional settings:
-nographic -enable-kvm -uuid <uuid> -smbios type=1,product="TIMOS:slot=A chassis=SR-7 card=sfm4-7"

IOM VM additional settings:
-nographic -enable-kvm -smbios type=1,product="TIMOS:slot=1 chassis=SR-7 card=iom3-xp-c mda/1=m10-1gb-hs-sfp-b"

Notice, I've had issues running more than 6-7 ports per VM on SROS 13 vSIM. The next ports didnt forward any traffic.
[flash=]
Christoffer

Network System Expert Norway
Nokia SRA #265
Alcatel-Lucent SRC 3RP Certified #552
Alcatel-Lucent SRC NRS-2 Certified #1104
Huawei HCNP Routing & Switching certified
Cisco CCNP Certified
LinkedIN
[/flash]
Post Reply

Return to “7750 SR”