OmniVista NMS Enterprise R4.5 R03 Installation Guide

markplaton

OmniVista NMS Enterprise R4.5 R03 Installation Guide

Post by markplaton »

To whom it may concern,

Good day to you!

I am seeking some support, advice and guidance for the installation of OmniVista NMS Enterprise R4.5 R03 to 2 Dell PowerEdge R470 Servers with Windows 2019 Server (Standard) Operating System.

I have two Physical Servers because the NMS Set-up requires High-Availability (HA) Installation.

My total number of AP (OAW-AP1361-RW) is 25 Nos. APs will be connected to the OS6465-P6. This Project is for Public Wi-Fi System.

My first question is: Does the latest version of OV 2500 R4.5 R03 does not support Deploying the Virtual Appliance in Virtual Box?
If it is not supported, should I use VMware ESXi or Hyper-V 2019?

PS. I have some knowledge in configuring Alcatel Switches but on this other Product of Alcatel-Lucent, I have zero knowledge. Please bear with my question and future questions on this topic.

Looking forward to your response and support.

Thank you and have a nice day!

Warm regards,

Mark
silvio
Alcatel Unleashed Certified Guru

Re: OmniVista NMS Enterprise R4.5 R03 Installation Guide

Post by silvio »

The installation guides and release notes will give you all your answers.
You can install OV2500 at ESX, hyperV and KVM. You are correct. virtual box is not supported anymore - I don't know why.
best regards
Silvio
markplaton

Post by markplaton »

Thanks, Silvio for your quick response.

Another questions:
If I will be using VMware ESXi to deploy the OV 2500 Virtual Appliance with the required High-Availability Installation which I mentioned in my original post, do I need to purchase a licence for the VMware ESXi 6.7?
Is there a free version of VMware ESXi 6.7 that will be suitable for the required setup?